Peshawar Zalmi win in dramatic last ball finish against Islamabad United in PSL 2019

Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and decided to bowl against Islamabad United at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai in the PSL.

Islamabad United scored a competitive 176 all out in their 20 overs with Cameron Delport 71, Philip Salt 28, Chadwick Walton 22 and Asif Ali 23 the main run scorers and Wahab Riaz 2-20, Ibtisam Sheikh 2-30 and Hasan Ali 2-24, the wicket takers for Peshawar Zalmi.

In reply, Peshawar Zalmi stumbled to 84-5 when Liam Dawson and Daren Sammy partnered up and took them to 121-5 (off 14 overs) requiring 57 to win off the remaining 6 overs. These two took Zalmi to needing 14 off the last over bowled by Mohammad Sami and Sammy was run out, off the penultimate ball, leaving Dawson with 4 to win off the last – he smashed it straight down the ground for 4 to give Peshawar a dramatic 5 wicket win. Shadab Khan 2-21 was the pick of the bowlers for Islamabad United.

Match Summary
Islamabad United : 176 (Cameron Delport 71, Philip Salt 28, Chadwick Walton 22, Asif Ali 23; Wahab Riaz 2-20, Ibtisam Sheikh 2-30, Hasan Ali 2-24)

Peshawar Zalmi : 177-6 (Andre Fletcher 21, Daren Sammy 40, Liam Dawson 52*; Shadab Khan 2-21)

Result – Peshawar Zalmi won by 4 wickets.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *