Sarfaraz Ahmed names Pakistan playing XI for the historic Test against Ireland


Pakistan will take on Ireland in the historic Test match starting tomorrow at Malahide in Dublin. This is Ireland’s first ever Test match after they were induced as a Full-Member by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in June 2017 along with Afghanistan. The Pakistani team landed in the United Kingdom well ahead of the match to get used to the conditions and also played warmup match against Northamptonshire.

Skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed today named the playing XI for the match and it is the same team that took field against Northamptonshire. Ahead of the fixture, the Pakistani captain said that it is a privilege for them to be a part of the historic Test match. He wished the home team the best for the biggest moment when they take field as a Test playing nation for the very first time.

“It is a privilege to be a part of this historic Test match and all of us are really looking forward to it. Ireland, who have a great tradition of cricket, are playing at home and I wish them all the best in this big moment. Ireland players feature prominently in the ICC ODI and T20I player rankings, and I am confident that in due course they will also make their mark in the Test rankings,” Sarfaraz said.

The Pakistan team is placed at No.7 in the rankings at the moment with 86 points, if they win the one-off Test they have a chance to gain a point in case they draw the match they will end up with 84 points and if they are defeated their ranking points will drop down to 81.

Top order batsman Imam-ul-Haq will make his Test debut and will open the innings along with Azhar Ali. Haris Sohail will bat at the crucial No.3 spot, two of their most consistent batsmen Asad Shafiq and Babar Azam are the next in line. The team has picked 6 specialist batsmen and have picked Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf who are the two all-rounders in the XI. Mohammad Amir, Abbas and Rahat Ali comprise the pace bowling attack and they will Faheem for assistance.

Pakistan playing XI for the historic Test:
Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, B Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed (C, wk), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas, Rahat Ali

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *