Cricket World Cup 2019 England beat South Africa by 104 runs

England defeated South Africa by 104 runs in the opening match of the World Cup 2019 at the Oval on Thursday.

England scored 311 at the loss of eight wickets against South Africa in 50 overs.

England had a disastrous start as Imran Tahir sent back Jonny Bairstow in the first over for a golden duck. Jason Roy (54) and Joe Root (51) then lifted England innings. The duo added 106 runs for the second wicket.

After England crossed 100 mark, Phehlukwayo got rid of Roy (54) in the 19th over then Rabada struck in the next over to dismiss Root (51). Captain Eoin Morgan then took England past 200.

Tahir then struck again to get rid of Morgan. Aiden Markram took a stunner to send back Morgan who added 106 runs for the fourth wicket with Ben Stokes, who is unbeaten after scoring half century.

Earlier, South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to field against England in the opening match of the World Cup at the Oval on Thursday.

England, the world’s top-ranked one-day international side and the tournament favourites, included fast bowler Liam Plunkett in a line-up captained by Eoin Morgan, with Tom Curran missing out on his Surrey home ground.

South Africa omitted allrounder Chris Morris, with Dwayne Pretorius selected.

“A 10.30 am start at The Oval — if there’s anything in the wicket, it’ll be in the first hour. We’ve got some fantastic fast bowlers and we’re hoping it’ll be a great occasion today,” said Du Plessis.

Morgan said: “We would have looked to do the same, just preferring chasing. The wicket looks really good.

“The balance we’ve gone with is for South Africa so hopefully it is the right one. Mark Wood has trained fully and is available for selection, but unfortunately he’s missed out.

“Jofra (Archer) has come in and impressed. He’s very calm when he plays. He’s a very exciting prospect given this is the very start of his international career.

“The favourites tag sits with us comfortably. It’s been a collective drive for us. I much prefer going in as favourites.”

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler (wkt), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis (capt), Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *